with Horse and Hound

O’Connor and Codd Battle for Top Rider in Ireland

The suspense continues as to who will win this season’s Irish Point-to-Point Riders Championship. Both Derek O’Connor and Jamie Codd have been alternating at the top of the table all season with O’Connor edging ahead last week with a season tally of 94 winners and Codd slipping slightly at 91.

O’Connor is the leading Irish point-to-point rider of all time with a remarkable 700 winners. But Jamie Codd from County Wexford will not give up easily having held the lead up to last week. This is a fascinating climax to the season which closes on June 6 at the Ormond Foxhounds meeting at Southpark, Ballingarry, County Tipperary.

Meanwhile Liz Lalor looks to have the Ladies Point to Point Riders Championship well in her grasp with 12 winners.

Posted May 19, 2011

Derek_OConnor_on_Phar_From_A_Friend_for_John_Paul_GilliganDerek OConnor on John Paul Gilligan’s Phar From A Friend at the Galway Blazers Point-to-Point, Athenry, Co. Galway